1:00 pm


Martin Loken

Minister (Political), Embassy of Canada

1:20 pm

Scott Foster

Director, Sustainable Energy Division,
UN Economic Commission for Europe

1:40 pm

Panel Discussion: Energy Efficiency as a Resource

It's a volatile time for energy. Price formulation in competitive power markets is being challenged by fuels that offer attributes that existing pricing methods don't currently recognize. Somewhat forgotten is the fact that energy efficiency offers many, if not all, attributes relative to large generation, i.e., stability, security, economic value and reduced emissions. Our panelists will consider the idea that as competitive markets see a restructuring of price formation, how energy efficiency can be recognized for its benefits.

Moderator - Barry Worthington Executive Director, US Energy Association
Alison Silverstein, Contributor, DOE Grid Reliability Study
David Terry, Executive Director, National Assn. of State Energy Officials
Greg White, Executive Director, National Assn. of Regulatory Utility Commissioners

2:20 pm

Jud Virden

Associate Laboratory Director,
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

2:25 pm

Rod Rushing

President, Buildings Solutions, North America,
Johnson Controls

2:30 pm


2:45 pm

Rep. Greg Walden

U.S. Representative, Oregon,
Chairmain, U.S. House Energy & Commerce Committee

3:00 pm

Lucian Niemeyer

Assistant Secretary of Defense for Energy,
Installations and Environment

3:15 pm

Maria Tikoff Vargas

Director, Department of Energy Better Buildings Challenge

3:25 pm

Energy Efficiency Indicator Survey Results and Panel

2017 marks the 11th edition of the Johnson Controls Energy Efficiency Indicator survey, which analyzes energy efficiency plans, practices and investments among executive-level decision makers responsible for energy and facility management in buildings. This year's respondents come from 12 countries, representing the world's major economic regions and a variety of public and private-sector organizations. Panelists will discuss the impact in a variety of areas.

Moderator - Clay Nesler, VP Global Energy & Sustainability, Johnson Controls
Elizabeth Allen, Senior Chief – Office of Energy Efficiency, Natural Resources Canada
Kate Johnson , Climate Program Analyst, Government of the District of Columbia
John Kliem, Executive Director, Resilient Energy Program Office, US Navy
Cliff Majersik, Executive Director, Institute for Market Transformation

4:40 pm

Dan Brouillette

Deputy Secretary, U.S. Department of Energy

5:00 pm

Forum Concludes

5:10 pm

Reception Begins

7:00 pm

Reception Concludes